Panettone prices in Switzerland: from 7 to 70 francs
In the Patti chiari test (RSI, 5 December 2025), the classic panettoni bought in Italian-speaking Switzerland ranged from 7 to 70 francs. Per kilo, Corriere del Ticino recorded three documented tiers on 8 December 2025: chain private label around CHF 10.00 (750 g at CHF 7.50, our arithmetic), Italian industrial brand CHF 14.00 to CHF 17.00, Ticino artisan CHF 33.00 to CHF 50.00 with an average of CHF 45.00. The tiers hold, the price of the current week does not.
Rappn compares prices across all 7 chains live: free, no account.
See live panettone offersAll current panettone offers from the Swiss chains, searchable and filterable by product, category, price and canton, with the price per kilo next to the box price.

Panettone does not have one price in Switzerland, it has four, and the gap between the first and the last is roughly tenfold. In the Patti chiari test broadcast by RSI on 5 December 2025, the programme bought a set of classic panettoni in Italian-speaking Switzerland and found them priced from 7 to 70 francs. In between sit the chain private label, the Italian industrial brand, the chain premium line and the Ticino artisan bakery, each with its own logic on price per kilo. This guide explains the four tiers, which chain lists which brand and when it pays to look: the price in the current week you see live in Rappn.
Last updated: September 2026. Sources: RSI, Patti chiari, "Panettoni, per la qualità si deve spendere", 5 December 2025, for the blind test and the 7 to 70 franc range; Corriere del Ticino, "Il prezzo del panettone" by Stefano Olivari, 8 December 2025, for the price per kilo by tier; RSI, Patti chiari, report on the Aldi panettone of 1 December 2021, for the Switzerland versus Italy comparison; Italian decree of 22 July 2005 (Gazzetta Ufficiale no. 177 of 1 August 2005) for the definition of panettone. The per-kilo prices quoted are December 2025 readings and should be treated as orders of magnitude, not as today’s prices.
Rappn is the only neutral grocery price comparison app in Switzerland, with no commercial agreements with any retailer.
How much does a panettone cost in Switzerland?
It depends which of the four panettoni you mean. The Patti chiari test of 5 December 2025 ran from 7 to 70 francs: a factor of ten on the same cake, under the same name, on the same December shelf.
The number that actually helps, though, is not the price of the box but the price per kilo. Panettone reaches the shelf in boxes of different sizes, and those sizes do not compare by eye. One example with a sourced figure: on 8 December 2025 Corriere del Ticino gives the classic Coop Prix Garantie panettone at 750 grams for CHF 7.50, which is CHF 10.00 per kilo (our arithmetic). A larger and dearer box can therefore cost less per kilo, so the lower shelf price is not automatically the lower spend per kilo of cake. On the shelf label the price per kilo is usually there already, just printed smaller.
Panettone price per kilo: the four tiers
Corriere del Ticino lined up the panettoni on sale in Ticino on 8 December 2025. The figures below come from that article. They are readings from one December rather than current prices, but the distances between the tiers hold, because they come from the recipe and not from the calendar week. For most brands the article gives a price per kilo only and no pack weight: on those rows the format is therefore marked "not stated" and the box-price cell is left empty, rather than inventing a size. For the Migros Sélection panettone the article writes "poco più di 21 franchi" without saying whether that is the price per kilo or the price of the box: that figure therefore sits in the price column, and the per-kilo column is left without a value on that row.
| Tier | Example named | Format | Price | Per kilo | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chain private label | Panettone Prix Garantie, Coop | 750 g | CHF 7.50 | CHF 10.00 (our arithmetic) | Corriere del Ticino, 8.12.2025 |
| Italian industrial brand | Tre Marie | not stated | about CHF 14.00 | Corriere del Ticino, 8.12.2025 | |
| Italian industrial brand | Paluani | not stated | CHF 16.00 | Corriere del Ticino, 8.12.2025 | |
| Italian industrial brand | Bauli | not stated | CHF 17.00 | Corriere del Ticino, 8.12.2025 | |
| Chain premium line | Migros Sélection, classic | not stated | a little over CHF 21.00 | unit not stated in the article | Corriere del Ticino, 8.12.2025 |
| Ticino artisan | bakeries and pastry shops in the canton | not stated | CHF 33.00 to CHF 50.00, average about CHF 45.00 | Corriere del Ticino, 8.12.2025 | |
| Dearest in the RSI test | not itemised | not stated | CHF 70.00 | not calculable without the weight | RSI Patti chiari, 5.12.2025 |
Between the private label and the artisan tier the price per kilo multiplies by roughly five, and the average of CHF 45.00 per kilo sits close to the upper end of the CHF 33.00 to CHF 50.00 band (Corriere del Ticino, 8 December 2025). That distance sits in the ingredient list.
Which chain lists which panettone brand?
This mapping rests on a dated source for one moment only, the RSI test of 5 December 2025. The panettoni bought there came from Lidl (Favorina line), Migros (San Antonio), Aldi (Monarc), Coop (own-label panettone) and Manor, which on its own fielded three names: Martesana, Manor Food and Forno Buono. On 8 December 2025 Corriere del Ticino adds the Italian industrial brands Tre Marie, Paluani and Bauli, but with a price per kilo and without naming the chain. We deliberately give no current assortment: it changes from year to year and from canton to canton, and what is on the shelf this week is what Rappn shows.
In practice: Favorina sat at Lidl and Monarc at Aldi (RSI, 5 December 2025), and a private label belongs by definition to the chain that lists it. An artisan panettone, for its part, exists only at the bakery that bakes it. The Italian manufacturer brands, by contrast, are tied to no chain and can turn up in any flyer, which is where the weekly comparison pays off most. Which brand will be on the shelf in your canton this December, and at what price, is in the current week’s offers.
Why an artisan panettone costs ten times as much
Because the shopping list is a different one. On 5 December 2025 RSI gave an example that explains most of it: natural vanilla can reach CHF 600.00 per kilo, against CHF 6.00 for the artificial version. A hundredfold, on an ingredient that weighs a few grams in the box and is still tasted in the mouth. Add the sourdough starter that has to be refreshed, the long proving, butter instead of vegetable fat, whole candied fruit instead of an aroma, and the hours of a workshop that works nights in December.
The second half of the answer sits in a law. In Italy the decree of 22 July 2005 (Gazzetta Ufficiale no. 177 of 1 August 2005) sets out what may be called panettone at all: at least 16 per cent butterfat, at least 4 per cent egg yolk, at least 20 per cent raisins and candied citrus peel, and a natural leaven of pasta acida. The decree governs production and sale in Italy and not in Switzerland, but it shows where the floor of the recipe lies: butter, yolk and fruit are the cost block, which is why the price per kilo climbs in steps rather than smoothly.
Buying a panettone at CHF 10.00 per kilo is therefore not buying a poor product, it is buying a different one: industrial, more stable over time, predictable in taste. Which of the two sums works for you depends on the occasion, not on a ranking.
Why panettone costs more here than in Italy
In Ticino this is the December question. Patti chiari put it to Aldi directly in 2021: the chain’s Gourmet panettone then cost CHF 14.99 in Switzerland and EUR 4.79 in Italy (RSI, 1 December 2021). The chain cited logistics costs, given that the production site is in Italy and not in Germany, and support for the Swiss business location. The case is almost five years old and its prices no longer apply, but the mechanism does.
If you live near the border, the real question is not whether it is cheaper over there but what the trip and the customs allowances do to the sum. That calculation sits in the guide on cross-border grocery shopping in Italy.
When is panettone on offer?
Panettone has no promotional calendar of its own, it follows the chains. Migros, Coop and Denner start their weekly Aktionen on Thursday: Coop since the week of 21 January 2025, Migros and Denner since 5 February 2026. Aldi Suisse and Lidl Schweiz run two waves a week, Monday and Thursday. For the panettone shelf that means the whole field moves at once on Thursday morning.
The second window falls after the holidays: panettone is a dated seasonal product taking up shelf space. We deliberately give no percentage for it: a week’s offers are observed, not predicted. Prices change every Thursday, and Rappn shows the ones currently running, free and with no account.
Can you actually taste the difference? The blind test
The most interesting part of the RSI report is not the ranking but what came after it. The expert jury put the Moschino x Martesana panettone first, Il Marnin of Locarno second and Bottega del fornaio of Mendrisio third. The programme then ran a blind tasting with ordinary passers-by, artisan against industrial: the artisan won, but only by 18 preferences to 12, and 40 per cent of people chose the 7 franc panettone (RSI, 5 December 2025).
Here is how to read that: not that the two products are the same, but that for four people in ten the difference did not justify the difference in price. No ranking makes that trade-off for you.
How to choose this year
It depends on the evening the box gets opened. Three questions get you there faster than any leaderboard: for how many people? Breakfast across several days, or something to bring to dinner? Does the price per kilo matter more than the name on the box? After that it pays to look at the current week, because which chain has which brand on offer changes every Thursday and is not something you keep in your head.
In Rappn you compare the current offers of the seven chains, filtered to your canton and with the price per kilo next to the box price. If you are planning the whole December shop, the guide to Christmas grocery shopping in Switzerland sets out the plan, and if you would rather bake, what Christmas cookies cost counts the ingredients. To place the Ticino price level in context, see grocery prices in Ticino.
Sources checked: .
The phone shows the panettone offers running right now at the seven chains, with the price per kilo next to the box price, and it is free to use.
Offers
Free, no account required · iOS & Android
Why Rappn?
Rappn is the only neutral grocery price comparison app in Switzerland, with no commercial agreements with any retailer. Our comparisons are truly independent.
- 100% free: no subscription, no hidden costs
- Neutral: no commercial agreements with Migros, Coop, Aldi, Lidl, Denner, Aligro, or Otto’s
- Real-time data: prices updated continuously
- +10,000 offers, +3,000 supermarkets, 100% free
Ready to save on groceries?
Install Rappn and compare for yourself this week. No account required.Scan the code, install Rappn, and start tracking real grocery savings this week. No account required.
Built in Switzerland, for Switzerland
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does a panettone cost in Switzerland?
In the Patti chiari test (RSI, 5 December 2025), the lowest priced of the classic boxes bought in Italian-speaking Switzerland cost 7 francs and the dearest 70. Per kilo, Corriere del Ticino recorded on 8 December 2025 about CHF 10.00 for a chain private label, CHF 14.00 to CHF 17.00 for Italian industrial brands and CHF 33.00 to CHF 50.00 for Ticino artisan panettone. These are readings from one December, not today’s prices.
Why is artisan panettone so expensive?
Because of the ingredients and the hours. On 5 December 2025 RSI gave the example of natural vanilla at up to CHF 600.00 per kilo against CHF 6.00 for the artificial version. Add the sourdough starter, the long proving, butter instead of vegetable fat and whole candied fruit. That does not make the industrial panettone a poor product: it is a different product with a different sum behind it.
Which chain sells which panettone brand?
The mapping backed by a dated source is the one from the RSI test of 5 December 2025: the samples came from Lidl (Favorina), Migros (San Antonio), Aldi (Monarc), Coop (own label) and Manor (Martesana, Manor Food, Forno Buono). On 8 December 2025 Corriere del Ticino added Tre Marie, Paluani and Bauli, but without naming the chain. The assortment changes from year to year and canton to canton, so we name none here: which brand is actually on offer this week you see live in Rappn.
Is it worth buying panettone in Italy?
That depends on the trip and the customs allowances, not on the shelf price alone. As an order of magnitude: in 2021 the Aldi Gourmet panettone cost CHF 14.99 in Switzerland and EUR 4.79 in Italy according to RSI (1 December 2021), with the chain citing logistics costs and the production site being in Italy. The case is old, those prices no longer apply, and a cross-border shop only starts to add up above a certain volume.
When is panettone on offer?
It follows the chains’ normal rhythm. Migros, Coop and Denner start their weekly Aktionen on Thursday, Coop since the week of 21 January 2025, Migros and Denner since 5 February 2026. Aldi Suisse and Lidl Schweiz bring new offers on Monday and Thursday. The second window falls after the holidays, because panettone is a dated seasonal product. We deliberately give no percentage for it: the current offers are in Rappn.
Is a dearer panettone automatically better?
Not for everyone. On 5 December 2025 the Patti chiari jury placed the Moschino x Martesana panettone first, Il Marnin of Locarno second and Bottega del fornaio of Mendrisio third. In the blind test run afterwards with passers-by, however, the artisan product won only by 18 preferences to 12, and 40 per cent of people chose the 7 franc panettone.
